Rebranding   1 comment

The secret of change is to focus all of your energy not on fighting the old but on building the new Socrates

I did something the other day that I don’t generally spend a lot of time (read: any, if at all) doing.

I looked at myself in the mirror.

And I mean, really looked, not just in a cursory ‘please, G-d, let my shirt match my pants’ or a ‘does my hair look all right?’ sort of way – the answer was yes on both counts – and even though I know what I look like, I was still taken aback by what I saw.

Even though I still pretty much look the same as I always have – more on that below – at the same time, I look totally different. Mostly it’s the little things – the nail polish on my toes, the blue streak in my hair, the necklaces I now wear on a regular basis.

The real differences are inside.

As I have said in prior posts, my self-image is better than it has ever been before. (Otherwise, I probably wouldn’t be walking around in public with a blue streak in my hair… Although I have to admit, it has gotten a lot of compliments.) The depression that was the bane of my existence for more years than I care to remember is under control without the meds that made me tired, bitchy moody, and fat, which is nice.

Most important is my sense of self-worth has sky-rocketed.

Now, to be clear, I have never doubted my abilities or intelligence. I have always known I was capable, in some instances more than capable. What I doubted was myself. I simply didn’t think I was really worth much of anything. It’s not that anyone ever told me I was wasn’t; it’s more that my image of myself didn’t match up with what society and our culture said I should be – popular, pretty, thin, witty. Being short, shy, awkward, and the size of an average person just seemed wrong. Now it just seems normal.

And as a bonus, I no longer really care what society thinks of me.

It took me much more time than it should have to realize the only person whose opinion about me I need to care about is me. And right now, that opinion is pretty good. Because I am no longer the same person I was before. In that vein, this will be the last post on Tales of a Marathon Widow.

This doesn’t mean I am going to stop writing.

I tried that once before, and it didn’t go over very well. Words to me are like lava in volcanoes; either they cascade out and create new structures, or they stay inside until the pressure is too much and create Pompeii. Which is not good.

See, here’s the thing. A marathon widow (or sports widow of any variety) is by definition someone who has been abandoned by their spouse for a game or a race to run or tournament to participate in. I haven’t been a marathon widow in four years, not since my marriage ended. It just took me longer than I would have liked to let go of that identity.

So, in that vein, it’s time for a little rebranding. After today, Marathon Widow will be archived in favor of my new blog, Snippets of an Unanticipated Life. The content will likely be similar – if not the same as this blog – but the identity will be new.

I hope to see you there.

Posted July 12, 2017 by wordsaremylife in random thoughts

One response to “Rebranding

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. wonderful, fabulous, LOVE the new name and the meaning behind a new name!

Leave a Reply

